If a person suffers a fatal workplace accident, can his dependents receive compensation?
The state of North Carolina does offer survivors’ benefits to family members. The decedent’s dependent family members or next of kin can receive 2/3 of his or her average weekly salary for 400 weeks. If the widow(er) is unable to support himself or herself due to disability, these benefits can continue through his or her lifetime. Dependent children can receive benefits for 400 weeks or until they turn 18.
A benefits claim must be submitted in writing to the North Carolina Industrial Commission within 2 years of the worker’s death. For more information, contact Morehead City death benefits lawyers Law Office of Sam Scudder at (252) 222-0227.